Lane Electric - A Touchstone Energy Cooperative


The Lane Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LEC) Board of Directors convened its regular board meeting on May 26, 2015 at the LEC corporate office at 787 Bailey Hill Road in Eugene, Oregon.


Call to Order

President Christopher B. Seubert called to order the LEC Board regular monthly meeting around 10 AM with a quorum present. Directors present were: Vice-President Susan Knudsen Obermeyer, Secretary/Treasurer Jack Billings and directors Charles E. Bangle, Jeri Nelson, J. Ingrid Kessler, and Kathy Keable.


Also present at different times in the meeting were: Charles N. Fadeley, LEC attorney (arrived around 10 AM); Matt Michel, General Manager; Tony Toncray, Manager of Construction & Maintenance; Debi Wilson, Manager of Office & Staff Services; Cynthia Scoble, Controller, and Member John Dubins.


Executive Secretary Brenda Everts acted as recording secretary.


Member Input

Central District member John Dubins had questions regarding the Community Solar Garden. President Seubert made note of Mr. Dubins questions and concerns and informed him that Staff would report back to him as soon as possible.


Approval of Agenda

President Seubert asked if there were additions or amendments to the agenda. President Seubert declared the agenda approved as presented.


Approval of Minutes

President Seubert asked if there were additions or corrections to the April 27, 2015 board meeting minutes. President Seubert asked if there were additions or corrections to the special meeting minutes from April 28. President Seubert declared both sets of the minutes approved as presented.


Safety Program Report

Manager Tony Toncray reported on the April inside Office and outside Construction and Maintenance safety meetings, and the Employee Safety Performance graphs through April.  Tony also reported that the May Safety meeting will be moved to later in the week due to scheduling conflicts.


Financial Report

Controller Cynthia Scoble along with Manager Debi Wilson reported on LEC’s financial condition for the period ending April 2015.


Upon motion made and seconded the board recommended that staff present at the June regular board meeting a recommendation to defer amortization of the Special Early Retirement Program (SERP) for fiscal year 2015.


CoBank Shareholder Ballot: Upon motion made and seconded Susan Knudsen Obermeyer was named Lane Electric’s CoBank voting signatory for calendar year 2015 with Jack Billings as alternate.


Manager Wilson presented a new CoBank Resolution. Upon motion and made and seconded Resolution 1-15 was adopted: A resolution authorizing execution of a cash management agreement with CoBank and accompanying bank authorizations.



President Chris Seubert called for committee reports.


Bylaws Committee Report: None


Elections and Credentials Committee Report: None


Policy Committee Report: None

Annual/District Meeting Committee Report: Committee Chair Jeri Nelson asked for dates and times of the upcoming District/Annual Meeting. Matt Michel stated that Dave D’Avanzo would send a report out soon.


Director Reports: Director Billings reported that he attended the Energy Facility Siting Council‘s tour of Portland General’s Boardman energy plant site.


ORECA: Director Seubert reminded everyone of the ORECA Annual Meeting next week in Portland. He also gave a brief report on the Legislative Conference in Washington DC.


General Manager: General Manager Michel shared thank-you notes received and reported on: The PNGC Board of Directors’ meeting, BPA-related matters, capital expenditures over ten thousand dollars, pre-pay, new residential developments, IT events, hiring, and transportation carbon emissions.


Referral of Bylaw Amendments to Members

Board chair Kathy Keable presented the suggested bylaw amendments. Discussion followed. Upon motion made and seconded, the board referred to the members of Lane Electric Cooperative the amendments as proposed by the Bylaws Committee and presented in the May 26, 2015 board packet.


Policy Review

General Manager Michel presented Policy 602 (Capital Credit Retirements) for review. Discussion occurred. Upon motion made and seconded, the Board affirmed Policy 602 (Capital Credit Retirement) as written and presented.



President Seubert called for nominations. Upon motion made and seconded, J. Ingrid Kessler was named Lane Electric Cooperative’s Cooperative Response Center, Inc. (CRC) voting delegate with Matt Michel as alternate.


Upon motion made and seconded, Barbara Clark was named as recipient of the Larry Erickson Member of the Year for the calendar year 2015.


Donation Requests

Upon motion made and seconded it was approved to donate $400 to the Northwest Youth Corps.





Agenda Items for June 22

President Seubert reviewed next month’s agenda items.


Executive Session

The directors along with General Manager Michel, Manager Wilson, and Attorney Fadeley entered into executive session.


The board reconvened regular session. Upon motion made and properly seconded the board authorized staff to market a community solar garden project to members at a participating rate equivalent to $1,450 per average, allocated panel output ($725 per half panel) for a 35 year term; and further, to authorize community solar garden project construction after 38 panel subscriptions have been secured and satisfactory participation agreements executed.



Being no further business to come before the Board, President Seubert adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:10 p.m.